Monday, January 8, 2024

Peppers and Edwards Among 2024 Hall of Fame Class

IRVING, TX – Two North Carolina college football legends were among the nineteen former players announced as the 2024 class of the College Football Hall of Fame today. Julius Peppers, a former standout at the University of North Carolina, and Armanti Edwards, the record-setting quarterback of Appalachian State’s championship runs, were among the 2024 College Football Hall of Fame Class revealed today during ESPN’s “Championship Drive Presented by Allstate” before this year’s college football playoff championship game.

Julius Peppers, a native of Bailey, NC, and Southern Nash fame is no stranger to accolades. During his college career from 1999 to 2001, Peppers was an All-American and won the Chuck Bednarik Award for the nation’s top defensive player in 20011. He recorded impressive stats with 167 tackles, 30.5 sacks, 53 tackles for loss, five interceptions, and five forced fumbles. After college, Peppers was selected by the Carolina Panthers as the second overall pick in the 2002 NFL Draft. He went on to have a stellar professional career, earning Pro Bowl selection in nine of his 17 seasons.

Armanti Edwards, whose illustrious college career at Appalachian State from 2006 to 2009 left an indelible mark on the sport, is being recognized for his exceptional contributions to college football. Edwards’ dynamic playing style and ability to perform under pressure were hallmarks of his college career. During his tenure at Appalachian State, Edwards led the Mountaineers to two Football Championship Subdivision (FCS) national championships. He also made history as the first player to win the Walter Payton Award, given to the most outstanding offensive player in the Division I FCS, twice.

The induction ceremony will occur later this year, where Peppers and Edwards will officially join the ranks of the greatest players in college football history. Their selection for this honor underscores their significant contributions to college football and cements their legacy as two of the sport’s most influential figures.



  • Justin Blackmon – WR, Oklahoma State (2009-11)
  • Paul Cameron – TB, UCLA (1951-53)
  • Tim Couch – QB, Kentucky (1996-98)
  • Warrick Dunn – RB, Florida State (1993-96)
  • Armanti Edwards – QB, Appalachian State (2006-09)
  • Deon Figures – CB, Colorado (1988, 1990-92)
  • Larry Fitzgerald – WR, Pittsburgh (2002-03)
  • Toby Gerhart – RB, Stanford (2006-09)
  • Dan Hampton – DT, Arkansas (1975-78)
  • Steve Hutchinson – OG, Michigan (1997-2000)
  • Antonio Langham – CB, Alabama (1990-93)
  • Randy Moss – WR, Marshall (1996-97)
  • Julius Peppers – DE, North Carolina (1999-2001)
  • Paul Posluszny – LB, Penn State (2003-06)
  • Dewey Selmon – NG, Oklahoma (1972-75)
  • Alex Smith – QB, Utah (2002-04)
  • Kevin Smith – CB, Texas A&M (1988-91)
  • Chris Ward – OT, Ohio State (1974-77)
  • Danny Woodhead – RB, Chadron State [NE] (2004-07) 


  • Mark Dantonio – 132-74-0 (64.1%): Cincinnati (2004-06), Michigan State (2007-19)
  • Danny Hale – 213-69-1 (75.4%): West Chester [PA] (1984-88), Bloomsburg [PA] (1993-2012) 
  • Frank Solich – 173-101-0: (63.1%) Nebraska (1998-2003), Ohio (2005-2020)