Sunday, November 13, 2022

Wingate and Fayetteville State Make D2 Playoff Bracket

INDIANAPOLIS – The NCAA announced the Division II football playoff field Sunday evening and two North Carolina schools, Wingate and Fayetteville State, were among the seven schools in Super Region 2. Wingate, representing the South Atlantic Conference, is in the playoffs for the fourth time in the last five years. Fayetteville State boosted its playoff resume by winning the CIAA championship this past Saturday.

Benedict is the top seed in the region, followed by Delta State, West Florida, and Virginia Union. Benedict gets an opening round bye, with Delta State, West Florida, and Virginia Union hosting games. Wingate, Fayetteville State, and Limestone round out the region. Delta State hosts Fayetteville State while Wingate will travel to Virginia Union.

Twelve first-round games will be conducted on the campus of one of the competing institutions. In addition, one team per super regional has earned a first-round bye. The first-round winners will all advance to the second round with games on the campus of one of the competing institutions. Second-round winners will meet in the quarterfinals at various campus sites. Quarterfinal winners will advance to play in the semifinals on the campus of one of the competing institutions. Seven teams selected per super regional make up the field of 28 teams.

The first-round dates, sites, and pairings are:

November 19 at Ashland, Ohio
Notre Dame (Ohio) (9-2) at Ashland (9-1)

November 19 at Shepherdstown, West Virginia
New Haven (8-2) at Shepherd (10-1)

November 19 at Worcester, Massachusetts
Slippery Rock (9-2) at Assumption (8-2)

November 19 at Richmond, Virginia
Wingate (9-2) at Virginia Union (9-1)

November 18 at Cleveland, Mississippi
Fayetteville State (9-2) at Delta State (10-1)

November 19 at Pensacola, Florida
Limestone (8-3) at West Florida (9-1)

November 19 at Arkadelphia, Arkansas
Northwest Missouri State (9-2) at Ouachita Baptist (11-0)

November 19 at Big Rapids, Michigan
Davenport (8-2) at Ferris State (9-1)

November 19 at Pittsburg, Kansas
UIndy (9-1) at Pittsburg. State (11-0)

November 19 at Bemidji, Minnesota
Winona State (8-3) at Bemidji State (9-2)

November 19 at Golden, Colorado
Colorado State University-Pueblo (8-3) at Colorado School of Mines (9-2)

November 19 at Mankato, Minnesota
Wayne State (Nebraska) (9-2) at Minnesota State Mankato (9-2)

The following institutions earned first-round byes in each super regional and will host a second-round game on November 26, 2022.

Super Regional One:
1. Indiana (PA) (9-1)

Super Regional Two:
1. Benedict (11-0)

Super Regional Three:
1. Grand Valley State (11-0)

Super Regional Four:
1. Angelo State (11-0)

All contests shall start at 1 p.m. local time. Other times may be established if approved by the committee.