Friday, July 26, 2019

Seven NCCFB Players Named Preseason All-MEAC; Aggies Picked to Repeat

NORFOLK – Seven North Carolina players were named to the 2019 Preseason All-MEAC football team on Friday at its annual football media day in Norfolk, Virginia. Howard University quarterback Caylin Newton was selected as the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) Preseason Offensive Player of the Year, while Delaware State University linebacker Brian Cavicante was selected as Preseason Defensive Player of the Year.

Bethune-Cookman led the way with six members of the preseason all-conference team, while defending MEAC champion North Carolina A&T, Delaware State and Howard each had four First Team honorees.

All-Conference Offense
QB Caylin Newton (Howard)
RB Isaiah Totten (North Carolina Central)
RB Dedrick Parson (Howard)
WR Jequez Ezzard (Howard)
WR Kyle Anthony (Howard)
TE Xavier Gravette (Morgan State)
C L’Dre Barnes (Bethune-Cookman)
OL Alex Taylor (South Carolina State)
OL Marcus Pettiford (North Carolina A&T)
OL Kaiden Crawford (Delaware State)
OL Dontae Keys (North Carolina A&T)

All-Conference Defense
DL Marques Ford (Bethune-Cookman)
DL Justin Cates (North Carolina A&T)
DL Darius Royster (North Carolina Central)
DL Kawuan Cox (North Carolina Central)
LB Brian Cavicante (Delaware State)
LB Marquis Hendrix (Bethune-Cookman)
LB Rico Kennedy (Morgan State)
DB Trevor Merritt (Bethune-Cookman)
DB Tydarius Peters (Bethune-Cookman)
DB Franklin McCain III (North Carolina A&T)
DB Jahad Neibauer (Delaware State)
PK Yahia Aly (Florida A&M)
P Chris Faddoul (Florida A&M)
RS Jimmie Robinson (Bethune-Cookman)

Defending MEAC conference champion North Carolina A&T was also chosen as the favorite to repeat in 2019.

MEAC Projected Order of Finish:
1. North Carolina A&T
2. Bethune Cookman
3. Florida A&M
4. North Carolina Central 
5. Howard University
6. South Carolina State
7. Norfolk State
8. Morgan State
9. Delaware State