Monday, July 16, 2018

49ers' Ben DeLuca Named Preseason All-CUSA

A trio of standouts headline the list of 2018 preseason Conference USA Football award winners, as chosen by the league’s 14 head coaches. Florida Atlantic junior RB Devin Singletary was selected as the C-USA Offensive Player of the Year, Florida Atlantic senior LB Azeez Al-Shaair was tabbed the Defensive Player of the Year, while Southern Miss senior K Parker Shaunfield earned Special Teams Player of the Year honors.

"Motor" Singletary was named C-USA Most Valuable Player last season after scoring a nation-leading 32 rushing touchdowns last season (nine more than any other player) and 33 total TDs (five more than any other player). He scored more rushing touchdowns last year (32) than previous school career record-holder Alfred Morris had in four years from 2008-11 (27). Singletary also topped 100 yards in each of the final 11 games of the season for the Owls. Both the rushing TD’s and total TD’s are new C-USA records in those categories, breaking records held by UCF RB Kevin Smith, now his running backs coach. Singletary finished fifth nationally with 1,920 rushing yards and FAU was sixth nationally in rushing at 285.9 yards per game.

Ben DeLuca
Al-Shaair was a first-team All-Conference USA selection in 2017 after he set a new Florida Atlantic single-season record with 147 tackles. He posted nine games with double-digit stops and also helped the defense with 11 tackles for loss, 2.5 sacks, four passes defended and one forced fumble. Al-Shaair already holds the schools’ career tackles mark with 354.

Shaunfield converted the first 89 extra-point attempts to start his career (a school record) and is now 104-for-106 all-time as a Golden Eagle. The first team All-C-USA performer converted 17-of-20 field goals last season, including 15 in a row at one point. Shaunfield was a semifinalist for the Lou Groza Award in 2017.

Defending conference champion Florida Atlantic had the most overall preseason selections with six, while Marshall produced five and Louisiana Tech and Middle Tennessee each had players comprising four spots. Eight schools had multiple players named to the squad.

The league’s 23rd football season begins on Thursday, August 30. The 14th annual Conference USA Football Championship Game, pitting the champions of the East and West Divisions, will be held Saturday, Dec. 1.


Devin Singletary, Jr., RB, Florida Atlantic

Azeez Al-Shaair, Sr., LB, Florida Atlantic

Parker Shaunfield, Sr., K, Southern Miss


QBMason Fine, Jr., North Texas
QBBrent Stockstill, Sr., Middle Tennessee
RBSpencer Brown, So., UAB
RBDevin Singletary, Jr., Florida Atlantic
OLReggie Bain, Sr., Florida Atlantic
OLChandler Brewer, Sr., Middle Tennessee
OLJordan Budwig, Sr., FIU
OLLevi Brown, Jr., Marshall
OLO'Shea Dugas, Sr., Louisiana Tech
TEHarrison Bryant, Jr., Florida Atlantic
WRTyre Brady, Sr., Marshall
WRJalen Guyton, Sr., North Texas
WRTy Lee, Jr., Middle Tennessee
WRTeddy Veal, Sr., Louisiana Tech


DLJaylon Ferguson, So., Louisiana Tech
DLFermin Silva, Sr., FIU
DLKevin Strong, Jr., Sr., UTSA
DLOshane Ximines, Jr., Old Dominion
LBAzeez Al-Shaair, Sr., Florida Atlantic
LBKhalil Brooks, Jr., Middle Tennessee
LBChase Hancock, Sr., Marshall
LBJosiah Tauaefa, Jr., UTSA
DBBen DeLuca, Jr., Charlotte
DBMalik Gant, Jr., Marshall
DBShelton Lewis, Sr., Florida Atlantic
DBAmik Robertson, So., Louisiana Tech
DBJalen Young, Sr., Florida Atlantic

Special Teams

KParker Shaunfield, Sr., Southern Miss
PJack Fox, Sr., Rice
KRIsaiah Harper, Sr., Old Dominion
PRDarrell Brown, Jr., Old Dominion
LSMatt Beardall, Jr., Marshall