Sunday, December 4, 2016

Campbell Players Earn All-Pioneer League Honors

BUIES CREEK, N.C. – Campbell’s Aaron Blockmon and Syd Holt have been named First Team All-Pioneer Football League, highlighting 11 Camels on the 2016 all-conference list, announced today.

In addition to Blockmon and Holt earning first team recognition, redshirt senior running back Jared Joyner and senior defensive back Chris Beaty were also named Second Team All-PFL.

Seven Camels also received All-PFL honorable mentions, including senior tight end Austin Fleming, redshirt junior offensive lineman Brian Stryffeler, redshirt senior Laurin O’Briant, redshirt junior defensive lineman Darren Flowers, redshirt sophomore linebacker Jack Ryan, senior linebacker Daniel Bostick and redshirt senior defensive back Greg Cunningham.

After earning honorable mention All-PFL accolades as a freshman in 2015, Blockmon led the PFL in receiving with 1,038 yards this season, tying as the top scoring receiver with 10 touchdowns. A Sanford, N.C. native, Blockmon set Campbell single-season records for receiving yards, receiving touchdowns and total receptions (54). After just two seasons, the redshirt sophomore is already Campbell’s all-time leader in receiving yards (1,491) and receiving touchdowns (15).

Holt helped lead the nation’s 17th ranked defense (322.1 yards per game), totaling 40 tackles with 10.5 going for loss. The redshirt senior added 5.0 sacks, recovered two fumbles and blocked a kick in 2016. He was one of eight in the PFL with at least 10.5 tackles for loss and 5.0 sacks.

Joyner finished third in the PFL in rushing with a career-high 741 yards, adding 147 yards receiving and nine total touchdowns. The Margate, Fla. native eclipsed the century mark three times on the season, including a career-best 184 rushing yard, two touchdown performance in a 28-0 win over Davidson.

Beaty, who was named honorable mention All-PFL last season, made 22 tackles on the year with three interceptions, eight pass breakups and a forced fumble. The senior collected seven stops with a forced fumble and a breakup in a 27-21 win at Morehead State. He broke up three passes twice.

Find the entire 2016 All-PFL teams here.

The conference announced its major award winners on Monday, with Stetson redshirt senior defensive back Donald Payne earning the PFL’s Defensive Player of the Year for a third consecutive year.

San Diego senior running back Jonah Hodges was named the league’s Offensive Player of the Year and head coach Dale Lindsey was the recipient of the league’s Coach of the Year citation. In addition, Drake senior punter/kicker Josh Lee was awarded the league’s Special Teams Player of the Year award.

Davidson quarterback Stockton McGuire received the league’s Freshman Offensive Player of the Year and Marist defensive lineman Peter Delatour nabbed the Defensive Player of the Year honor.