Tuesday, December 1, 2015

Campbell's Jack Ryan Named Pioneer Freshman Defensive Player of the Year

BUIES CREEK, N.C. – Campbell’s Jack Ryan has been named the 2015 Pioneer Football League Freshman Defensive Player of the Year, in a vote of the conference’s coaches.

The Matthews, N.C. native totaled 66 tackles, including 11.0 stops for loss in his first collegiate season, adding 2.0 sacks and two interceptions.

Ryan led all PFL freshmen with 47 tackles (5.9 per game) in league play. He also ranked 12th overall in the league and tops among freshmen with 8.5 tackles for loss (1.06 per game).

Ryan finished the regular season ranked 77th nationally (sixth among FCS freshmen) in tackles for loss. He becomes the first Campbell student-athlete to receive one of the PFL’s annual postseason major awards.

The rookie played in all 11 CU games, making two starts at middle linebacker. He tallied a season-high 12 tackles with an interception at San Diego, posting five or more tackles in nine outings.

The PFL’s other major award winners included Stetson safety Donald Payne (Defensive Player of the Year) and Morehead State quarterback Austin Gahafer (Offensive Player of the Year), with Dayton cornerback Nick Kaczkowski and Butler wide receiver Guy DiBalsamo sharing Special Teams Player of the Year honors.

San Diego quarterback Anthony Lawrence received the Freshman Offensive Player of the Year award, while Dayton head coach Rick Chamberlin was named the league’s Coach of the Year.

The PFL will announce its All-PFL squads, Tuesday. The league then will announce its Scholar-Athlete of the Year, Wednesday, coinciding with the announcement of the Academic All-PFL teams.