Tuesday, August 14, 2012

Stewart Hobbs To Serve As NCHSAA President For 2012-13 Academic Year

CHAPEL HILL – Dr. Stewart Hobbs, superintendent of the Yadkin County schools, will serve as president of the North Carolina High School Board of Directors for the 2012-13 academic year.

Kathy Spencer, the superintendent of Onslow County, is the incoming vice president.

Stewart is currently the superintendent of the Yadkin system after serving three and a half years as the superintendent of the Stokes County schools. He was at the helm of the Sampson County school system from 2003 until January of 2008.
A graduate of Clinton High School, Hobbs received his undergraduate degree from UNC-Wilmington, a Masters of Education from Fayetteville State University and his doctorate in education from UNC-Greensboro.

Hobbs had a successful coaching career before going into administration.

New Board members were recommended by the NCHSAA's Nominating Committee, based on the requirements of the Association's constitution and by-laws. The member schools at eight regional meetings select nominees for consideration across the state, then from among those nominees individuals are selected by the Nominating Committee to fill the available slots. They are approved by the membership at the NCHSAA Annual Meeting in May.

The new Board members nominated were either filling vacancies produced by members going off the Board due to completion of their terms or those who are off due to retirement or leaving public school work.

They include: Region 2-- 1-A, principal M.D. Guthrie, Wallace-Rose Hill High School; 2-A, principal Joe Poletti, Croatan High School; Region 8--Tony Baldwin, superintendent, Buncombe County Schools.

Since the Annual Meeting, Sally Bradshaw, principal of Fred T. Foard High School in Catawba County, has left her position and thus has left the Board of Directors. Filling that position on a one-year interim basis for this year is Teresa Evans of North Iredell High School.

Herman Little of Elizabeth City Northeastern has also recently announced his retirement, and Ron Butler of the Pitt County schools will be assuming that spot on the Board on an interim basis.

"These individuals will continue to provide outstanding leadership,” said NCHSAA commissioner Davis Whitfield.  “We look forward to Stewart Hobbs serving as president and the direction he will provide.
"We are also excited about those who will be joining the Board of Directors, which should help us to maintain an outstanding Board to serve our membership.”