Friday, April 13, 2012

Coaches Earn Homer Thompson Sportsmanship Awards From NCHSAA

CHAPEL HILL – Eight "coaches who make a difference" by virtue of their exemplary sportsmanship will be honored by the North Carolina High School Athletic Association at the NCHSAA Annual Meeting.

The coaches have been selected for the Homer Thompson Memorial Eight Who Make a Difference award. The award is named in honor of the late Homer Thompson, the long-time Winston-Salem Parkland coach and member of the NCHSAA Hall of Fame. Each honoree will receive the award at the Smith Center on May 3.

“Homer Thompson’s name is affixed to this award because he certainly did make a difference in the lives of many and truly was an outstanding role model,” said NCHSAA commissioner Davis Whitfield,

The winners were chosen by a special committee based on nominations from the member schools. They will receive a plaque as part of the Association's student services program.

Coaches receiving this honor for 2011-12 include the following:

Region 1: Barbara Hill, volleyball coach and athletic director, Columbia High School
Region 2: Kevin Motsinger, head football coach, New Hanover High School, Wilmington
Region 3: Russell Weinstein, head football coach, Roanoke Rapids High School
Region 4: Philip Hart, head men's basketball coach, Douglas Byrd High School, Fayetteville
Region 5: Dan Tricarico, head baseball coach, East Davidson High School
Region 6: Gosnell White, head men's basketball and softball coach, Marvin Ridge High School, Waxhaw
Region 7: Jonathan Huggins, head men's basketball coach, Forbush High School, East Bend
Region 8: Mike Sexton, head football coach, Clyde Erwin High School, Asheville

Each school had the opportunity to nominate one of its coaches for this award. "These coaches are excellent role models who provide support and encouragement to our young people," says Whitfield.

The North Carolina Farm Bureau Mutual Insurance Company underwrites the recognition for high school coaches.