Monday, January 3, 2011

Hillside's Lee named AP Player of the Year

The Associated Press voting for the North Carolina Player of the Year is complete and the winner of the award is Vad Lee from Hillside High School in Durham. Lee led his Hornet teammates to a 16-0 record and the 4A state championship.

The dual threat Lee passed for over 3,000 yards and ran for over 1,200 yards while playing a part in over 50 Hornet touchdowns this season. In the championship game against Davie, Lee threw for 264 yards and three touchdowns, all scored in the first half of a 40-0 rout.

From 2010 Football 4A High School State Title Game

The Georgia Tech commit received 11 of the possible 15 votes to win this year’s award. Marquise Williams of 4A Mallard Creek and 3A state champion West Rowan’s B. J. Sherrill also received votes.

Lee also participated in this year’s Shrine Bowl of the Carolinas, starting at quarterback for North Carolina.

3A State Champion West Rowan’s Scott Young was chosen as AP Coach of the Year, edging out 4A runner-up Davie Coach Doug Illing and 4AA Champion Butler’s Mike Newsome.

Young has led his Falcons team to 3 straight 3A state titles and the nation’s current longest winning streak, 46 games.