2020-21 High School and College Head Football Coaching Changes

As of 6/14/2021, 39 NCHSAA schools and 1 NC college have made our Football Head Coaches changes list. Two new schools are opening for the Fall 2021 season.

Latest HS news: Charles McEachin hired at West Cabarrus, Murphy promotes Joseph Watson to head coach after David Gentry's retirement, Neil Blankenship reverses course and will return for the 2021 season, Swansboro taps Shea Townsend to replace Tim Laspada, Brian Batchelor hired to replace retiring Brian Foster at Southern Nash, South Iredell hires Eric Rees, Andy Howell promoted at North Iredell, Joe Glass leaves Lincolnton to take job at Hickory.

Latest college news: Western Carolina hires Kerwin Bell to replace Mark Speir. 

CollegeOld CoachNew Coach
Western CarolinaMark SpeirKerwin Bell

SchoolOld CoachNew Coach
Athens DriveJeremy FullbrightTommy Smith
AycockSteve Brooksvacant
CaryJason WilkesColeman Tyrance
Douglas ByrdMike ParoliMaurice Huey
East MecklenburgRobert ForsheeLennie Sanders
EnkaJeff FradyMike Sexton
EnloeNick KnightRyan Clark
FairmontGeorge ColtharpLonnie Cox
Farmville CentralScott GardnerRon Cook
FranklinJosh BrooksJosh Brooks (1)
GaringerChristian PriceShon Galloway
Grays CreekDavid LovetteJon Sherman
HickoryRussell StoneJoe Glass
IndependenceMike NatoliDJ McFadden
LincolntonJoe Glassvacant
Montgomery CentralBenji BrownChris Metzger
MoreheadLin StadlerMaurice Torain
MurphyDavid GentryJoseph Watson
Myers ParkMark HarmanCurtis Fuller
North IredellDavid LewisAndy Howell
PamlicoRon CookDavid Perrine
PasquotankRaShawn Spencervacant
PersonJoey Carrollvacant
PiedmontPhil MauroAaron Braswell
PinecrestChris Metzgervacant
Seaforthnew schoolTerrance Gary
South CaldwellMarc Kirkpatrickvacant
South IredellScott MillerEric Rees
South JohnstonMatthew RiggsbeeLee Webb
South LenoirJeremy JoynerDavid Combs
South RowanDaniel YowChris Walsh
Southern NashBrian FosterBrian Batchelor
St. StephensWayne Hicksvacant
SwainNeil BlankenshipNeil Blankenship (2)
SwansboroTim LaspadaShea Townsend
Union PinesLonnie CoxJason Trousdale
West CabarrusBrandon GentryCharles McEachin
Western HarnettBlake CulbertsonZach Tenuta
Willow Springsnew schoolJason Wilkes

(1) Josh Brooks stepped down, but later decided to return for the 2021 season
(2) Neil Blankenship stepped down, but later decided to return for the 2021 season